To just ‘Be’ in 10 minutes

In the last few weeks, I’ve had a period of absence. Or rather, a few months worth of absence. From January. There are multiple reasons for this – mainly not feeling as if I have enough time during the week to even have a moment to write.

Often, we get caught up in life. We forget to take time out for ourselves. We forget that we all need moments in which we can detach ourselves from our day to day lives and – just be.

In order to be, we must remove ourselves from the stresses of daily life. We need to take a moment to ourselves, and focus on ourselves. To not listen to the racing thoughts of: ‘I need to get this done before tomorrow’, ‘If I don’t do that now, it will never get done. I need to start it’ or – ‘If I miss this now, I have to wait another hour for that to be done’.

We need to detach ourselves. To focus on –  as my doctor told me; living in the moment. Life is busy, life can be frustrating, ‘Shit happens‘. However, if we let ourselves get caught up in the whirlpool of life and shit, do we ever truly find peace?

No matter how busy you are, no matter how stressful your life is – in fact, especially if your life is stressful, you should always take 10 minutes to yourself. Ten minutes to shut your eyes and focus on breathing. To focus on how your body feels in that precise moment – not on how it will feel in the future.

I’m not often a fan of mindfulness, but perhaps that is because I don’t truly understand it. I often find it a little too precise for my tastes. That you must follow it step by step in order to feel like you’ve achieved the end of a mindfulness session. In fact, I’ve often found that it makes me feel a little more stressed as I try to keep up with the person presenting it.

Perhaps I’m doing it wrong.

Regardless, I’ve found that following a slow mindfulness – an internalised one, instead of one with a presenter, can often be helpful.

But how is it done? Well, I’m no dictator, but I would recommend going with the flow of yourself. Take it at your pace.

Find somewhere quiet, shut your eyes and just focus on how your body feels. How tense your muscles feel. How cold or warm the room is. The pressure of your body as your lay or sit against something.

If you’re holding your breath when you breathe in, and how far your lungs expand within you with each draw of breath that you take.

Being is simply that – being. Taking a moment (10 minutes, to be precise) of your day to realise that – yes, you are a living, breathing human. You’re alive, and your body feels whatever way it feel in that precise moment. That you can relax and you can be who you without worrying about the output of others.

Being is about not being judged, and for realising how you feel. Or for realising that you’re not exactly sure how you feel. It’s about being more self-aware, and about training your brain to clear away thoughts and distress for ten minutes in order to focus on your body, your mind and how you feel in the world in that precise moment. To try and help you to relax.

These minutes of relaxation, of peace and of understanding. Is it too much to ask that you reward yourself with ten minutes?

You can practice this anywhere, at anytime and without needing a lot of equipment in order to get started. All you need is a quiet space (If you prefer), some patience, and a watch to time yourself – you can even go longer than ten minutes if you want.

Just let go. Focus on you, and allow yourself the time you deserve in order to be at ease with yourself.

If you really want to get started, but you’re still unsure how, you can learn using the ‘Headspace‘ app on your phone. It’s free to download, and they have a ‘Take 10’ program which is very useful to teach you how to take some time for yourself, or to calm you down when you’re in distress.

I’m not an advocate for this app, I just found it very useful when I was using it, and it was a friend that recommended it to me.

This was just a quick post to get back into the swing of things. I’m going to have more in the works when I have a few moments. Although, I do hope this has helped someone out there a little bit.

